Week 13: Other Visual Materials

Comic Selection:

AA

  1. Stevenson, N., Watters, S., Nowak, C., & Laiho, M. (2015). Lumberjanes: Beware the kitten holy (Vol. 1). Los Angeles, CA: BOOM! Box, a division of Boom Entertainment, Inc.

Reading/Grade Level: Ages 10 & up (grade 5 and up)

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Graphic Novels

BBAwards: Eisner Award for Best New Series in 2015; and the GLAAD Media Award For Outstanding Comic Book in 2016.

Book Summary (back cover): At Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types, things are not what they seem. Three-eyed foxes. Secret caves. Anagrams. Luckily, Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are fie rad, butt-kicking best friends determined to have an awesome summer together…and they’re not gonna let a magical quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! The mystery keeps getting bigger, and it all begins here.

EE

Reviews:

  • Publisher’s Weekly: The first four supernatural adventures of five young scouts-in-training at Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Girls Hardcore Lady Types are gathered in this clever, funny, and just-creepy-enough collection…Humorously riffing on everything from scout badges to the X-Men to feminist heroes (“Where the Phillis Wheatley were you?”), it’s a sharp, smart, and most of all fun celebration of sisterhood that will leave readers eager for the Lumberjanes’ future exploits. Ages 10–up.
  • School Library Journal: …There really is so much to love about this first volume of Lumberjanes. The girls have great exclamations from “What the Junk!” to calling out well-known women such as Joan Jett and Juliette Gordon Low. They are smart, capable, and really just a pleasure to read. I would not object to more stories and characters like this. This title needs to be in every graphic novel and/or tween/teen collection.

Literacy Tie-Ins: Learn about the important women mentioned the volumes of Lumberjanes.

Common CoreCCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.6.3 (Describe how a particular story’s or drama’s plot unfolds in a series of episodes as well as how the characters respond or change as the plot moves toward a resolution); CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.5.7 (Analyze how visual and multimedia elements contribute to the meaning, tone, or beauty of a text (e.g., graphic novel, multimedia presentation of fiction, folktale, myth, poem); CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.5.5 (Explain how a series of chapters, scenes, or stanzas fits together to provide the overall structure of a particular story, drama, or poem.)

Read-Alikes: The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks and The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 1 by Ryan North


Why is it appealing?

I think Lumberjanes is an appealing graphic novel for all ages, but particularly for girls ages 10 and up because its all-girl team (otherwise known as a band of “hardcore lady-types”) is unique; not only is it focused on “girl” power as they battle supernatural creatures and work to solve mysteries, but many different body shapes and skin colors are portrayed throughout these colorful, exciting, and humorous jam-packed adventures. With the representation of all different types of girls being the main characters, instead of just as sidekicks to boys, as well as the importance of friendship between very different personality types, Lumberjanes fills a gap in children’s literature.


Sources:

Witty, P. (1941). Children’s interest in reading the comics. The Journal of Experimental Education, 10(2), 100-104.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s